Activities

Thann

Nestled at the foothills of the Vosges mountains, the town of Thann has a rich heritage that earned it the title as one of the 100 most beautiful destinations of France (Les Plus Beaux Détours de France). The historic town center is spread around the St-Thiébaut collegiate church, a jewel of Gothic architecture. As you stroll along the narrow streets, you will discover 16th century houses, fountains, oriel windows, towers and fortifications dating from the 14th and 15th centuries and the embankments of the Thur River.

Charming villages are set throughout the heart of two valleys in southern Alsace. The routes will lead you to waterfalls and mountain lakes, and will offer you a panorama and a breathtaking landscapes of the Alsace plain to the Bernese Alps. You will be able to take in the beauty of the mountain range by crisscrossing the ridge route.

Thann lies at the start of the 170km Alsace Wine Route and boasts a wine-growing tradition and exceptional vineyards. The route shows idyllic landscapes, cultural highlights and, of course, the vineyards themselves. Set on steep sides of mountains, the unique vineyards produce some of the world’s most remarkable vintages.

Nature

Alsace is home to breathtaking nature, like glacial lakes, the Vosges Mountains, Palatinate Forest, nature reserves, flora, fauna, and more. 
 
Besides this stunning scenery being a backdrop for your cycling, the Regional Natural Park Ballons des Vosges offers many outdoor activity options, like hiking, rock climbing, paddle boating on the Kruth-Wildenstein Lake, and so much more.
 
From the ruins of the Engelbourg Castle, which are accessible only by foot (20 minute walk from Thann center), you can enjoy the views of the Rangen vineyard and the Alsace plain. 

Cultural attractions

Considered one of Alsace’s most beautiful churches, the Saint-Thiébaut Collegiate Church is a Gothic architecture masterpiece that took nearly 200 years to complete (1332-1516). The building has a striking multi-color tile roof and the 78m-tall bell tower holds three bells, the most ancient of which is from 1467.
 
Stroll through the narrow streets of the historic town center and discover the 16th century houses, 14th and 15th century towers and fortifications and Thann's rich heritage.
 
Museum of Friends of Thann is located in a building built in 1519 and is a local history museum. Open June to September.
 
Guided tours of the historic center, the vineyards of Rangen, local artisans are available in July and August.
 
The famous Alsace Wine Route begins at the South Gate (also known as the Witches’ Tower). The rampart tower was built in 1411 and has a unique bulbous roof and contains a permanent exhibition that presents the different terroirs of the Alsatian vineyards and the work of the winegrower, including bore samples that showcase the composition of the Alsatian soils, which are the source of the wines’ riches. Open June to September.

Wine region

Alsace is a famous wine-growing region, with the vineyards situated between the Vosges massif and the Alsace plain. The natural barrier of the Vosges protects the vineyards and contributes to the very Alsace-specific climate.
 
The land has produced wine from the Roman era, through the Middle Ages, to present day and the traditions are a credit to the generations of passionate winegrowers.
 
Rangen is the only Alsatian vineyard to be classified Grand Cru over its entire surface (19 ha). Facing south, it owes its reputation to its unique terroir (volcanic soil) and to its steep, 45-degree slopes, that make it among the steepest and most unique looking vineyards.

Sponsors

Activités

Thann

Nichée au pied des Vosges, la ville de Thann possède un riche patrimoine qui lui a valu d'être classée parmi les 100 plus beaux détours de France. Le centre historique de la ville s'étend autour de la collégiale St-Thiébaut, joyau de l'architecture gothique. En flânant dans les rues étroites, vous y découvrirez des maisons du XVIe siècle, des fontaines, des oriels, des tours et fortifications datant des XIVe et XVe siècles et les berges de la Thur.
 
De charmants villages sont disséminés au cœur de deux vallées du sud de l'Alsace. Les itinéraires vous mèneront vers des cascades et des lacs de montagne, et vous offriront un panorama et des paysages à couper le souffle de la plaine d'Alsace aux Alpes bernoises. Vous pourrez vous imprégner de la beauté de la chaîne de montagnes en sillonnant l'itinéraire de la Route des Crêtes.
 
Thann se trouve au départ de la Route des vins d'Alsace, longue de 170 km, et bénéficie d'une tradition viticole et de vignobles exceptionnels. L'itinéraire présente des paysages idylliques, des sites culturels et, bien sûr, les vignobles eux-mêmes. Installés sur les flancs escarpés des montagnes, ces vignobles uniques produisent certains des crus les plus remarquables du monde.

Nature

L'Alsace abrite une nature à couper le souffle : lacs glaciaires, Vosges, forêt palatine, réserves naturelles, flore, faune, etc.

Outre ces paysages époustouflants qui serviront de toile de fond à vos randonnées cyclistes, le parc naturel régional des Ballons des Vosges offre de nombreuses possibilités d'activités de plein air, comme la randonnée, l'escalade, le canotage sur le lac de Kruth-Wildenstein, et bien d'autres encore.

Depuis les ruines du château de l'Engelbourg, accessibles uniquement à pied (20 minutes de marche depuis le centre de Thann), vous pourrez profiter de la vue sur le vignoble du Rangen et la plaine d'Alsace.

Attraits culturels

Considérée comme l'une des plus belles églises d'Alsace, la collégiale Saint-Thiébaut est un chef-d'œuvre de l'architecture gothique dont la réalisation a pris près de 200 ans (1332-1516). L'édifice est recouvert d'un toit de tuiles multicolores et le clocher, haut de 78 mètres, abrite trois cloches, dont la plus ancienne date de 1467.

Flânez dans les ruelles du centre historique et découvrez les maisons du XVIe siècle, les tours et fortifications des XIVe et XVe siècles et le riche patrimoine de Thann.

Le Musée des Amis de Thann, situé dans un bâtiment construit en 1519, est un musée d'histoire locale. Ouvert de juin à septembre.

Des visites guidées du centre historique, des vignobles de Rangen, des artisans locaux sont proposées en juillet et août.

La célèbre Route des Vins d'Alsace commence à la Porte Sud (également connue sous le nom de Tour des Sorcières). Cette tour de remparts, construite en 1411 et dotée d'un toit à bulbe unique, abrite une exposition permanente qui présente les différents terroirs du vignoble alsacien et le travail du vigneron, notamment des échantillons de forage qui mettent en évidence la composition des sols alsaciens, source de la richesse des vins. Ouvert de juin à septembre.

Région viticole

L'Alsace est une région viticole réputée, dont le vignoble est situé entre le massif des Vosges et la plaine d'Alsace. La barrière naturelle des Vosges protège le vignoble et contribue au climat très spécifique de l'Alsace.

La terre a produit du vin depuis l'époque romaine, en passant par le Moyen Âge, jusqu'à nos jours et les traditions sont à mettre au crédit des générations de vignerons passionnés.

Le Rangen est le seul vignoble alsacien à être classé Grand Cru sur toute sa surface (19 ha). Exposé au sud, il doit sa réputation à son terroir unique (sol volcanique) et à ses pentes abruptes de 45 degrés, qui le placent parmi les vignobles les plus pentus et les plus atypiques.